From the partners’ perspective, supervision of the daily business is vested in the managing partner ECN Foundation. ECN has a Supervisory Board which comprises independent experts and maintains supervision in broad terms. The members have fixed appointment terms and varied expertise. The Board assesses the annual budget and accounts and proposes fixed and variable remunerations.

ECN Supervisory Board

ECN’s Supervisory Board monitors the policy of ECN’s Executive Board and provides advice. The members of ECN’s Supervisory Board are:

  • Dr. H.P.M. Knapen (chairman)
  • Mr. L.L. Pool
  • Prof. dr. ir. A.H.M. Verkooijen
  • Drs. P.G. Winters
  • Dr. ir. B.C. Fortuyn
  • Dr. M.M.G. Pubben

The members of the Supervisory Board are appointed by the Minister of Economic Affairs, on the recommendations of the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board formulates these recommendations in consultation with the Executive Board and the Works Council. Members of the Supervisory Board are appointed for a term of four years and can be appointed for a maximum of two terms.

Other supervision
De Autoriteit Nucleaire Veiligheid en Stralingsbescherming (ANVS), part of Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, monitors NRG for the application of its licence in the context of the Dutch Nuclear Energy Act.

The National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM), by commission of the Department for Nuclear Safety, Security, Safeguards and Radiation Protection, periodically measures the discharge of radioactive substances and gases into the environment. 

Euratom and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) monitor NRG’s use of fissile materials and their administration through inspections conducted four times a year. This includes a full inspection once a year.